Family laws have been placed in an important position in every legal system. In the United States, the offense relating to child abuse or neglect is regarded as one of the most concerning facts among family-related legal disputes or crimes. Giving importance to the children’s safety, all states maintain individual laws and agencies. Here we tried to discuss the unfounded CPS case.
What if a CPS case is unfounded?
CPS cases are regulated and conducted by the Child Protective Services (CPS) agency to secure the child’s safety and protection.
As the CPS is always ready to comply with the call of child abuse or neglect, after being informed, they start their investigation within 72 hours of receiving the information.
Variation to the states to state they finish the investigation within 30 to 45 days, and if they need more, then so.
During the course of their investigation, they collect all of the evidence and all of the information that will help them reach their decision.
After conducting the investigation, the CPS will notify those concerned about the findings of the case. If they find that nothing like child abuse happened or they are not reaching a decision because of a lack of proper evidence, then they will term the case unfounded.
So, finally, we can say that the unfounded case is one where the alleged person is found guilt-free.
- Does an unfounded CPS case stay on your record in California?
In California, an unfounded CPS is deleted from the record within ten years, provided no subsequent allegation arises within the period with the same body.
- Does an unfounded CPS case stay on your record near New Jersey?
In New Jersey, the unfounded CPS case is not kept in the Child Abuse Registry but in the confidential records of the DPFS. However, they will automatically delete the records within three years.
- What happens when a CPS case is unfounded in NY?
When a report is unfounded in New York, the person receives a written notification from the Statewide Central Register.
- Can I sue someone for making a false CPS report in California?
Yes, California law gives a person the right to sue the caseworker who made the false CPS report.
- How long does a founded CPS case stay on your record in Virginia?
It mostly depended on the nature of the cases. Upon the basis of the nature of the case, the founded CPS case stays on your record in Virginia from 3 to 18 years.